If you want to work as a contractor in the state of Oregon, you’re going to need a license. Don’t believe us? On their website, the state specifically says, “Anyone who works for compensation in any construction activity involving improvements to real property needs a license.” But don’t worry. Getting your Oregon contractor’s license isn’t too challenging. Here’s a step-by-step guide to getting your license from the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB).
The state wants to know that you know your stuff before they let you work on people’s homes and businesses. So they require pre-licensure education.
Specifically, they mandate that you complete 16 hours of education from a provider they’ve approved. They keep a list of approved pre-license educators on their website so you can easily shop your options. You have the choice to take these courses in person or online. If you’d like to be able to knock out the 16 hours at your pace and at your convenience, an online course is for you.
As you’re completing your hours, make sure you’re tracking with the content. Learning the material helps you prep for the next steps.
Next up is an exam. The test covers the Oregon version of the National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA) Contractors Guide to Business, Law, and Project Management, which you learn about during your pre-license education. You register for your test through PSI, the state’s official exam administrator. And PSI puts out a bulletin to help you prepare.
Once you pass the exam, PSI sends your information to the CCB so you can continue moving forward with your licensing process. But you have some other to-dos to knock out first.
Once you pass the test, it’s time to get ready to work as a contractor. That means setting up your business. To do that, you need to:
Now that you’re registered, bonded, and insured, you’re ready to officially apply for your Oregon contractor’s license.
You’re in the final stretch now. It’s time to apply for your license. Oregon offers three types of contractor’s license and each has its own application, so make sure you fill out the right one. Here is a direct link to the State Website with all New Applications: Residential, Commercial, and Dual Applications.
The applications may seem long, but don’t worry. You only need to fill out certain pages based on the type of business you’re starting.
Don’t send in your application alone. Make sure you include your surety bond, your certificate of liability insurance, and the $250 application fee, too.
Provided you follow the guidelines in the application — which are fortunately pretty straightforward — and have checked off steps one through three of this process, the CCB should grant your contractor’s license without any issues.
This whole process starts with pre-license education. Choose the right CCB-approved course to set yourself up for success, making it a breeze to pass your exam and set up your business. What are you waiting for?